Marvin Announces Winners of its 2011 Architect’s Challenge

The winners of the 2011 myMarvin Architect’s Challenge, sponsored by Marvin Windows and Doors in Warroad, Minn., vary widely in design, from a rural farmhouse in Maine to an ultra-contemporary mountain home in Oregon, but all feature doors and windows from Marvin. The company says its annual contest recognizes the best in architecture. This year, for the first time, the judges also honored an international entrant: La Reserva Villa, a four-story villa overlooking the Mediterranean Sea in Sotogrande, Spain.

“These winning projects are an inspiring display of architecture,” says Brett Boyum, director of marketing for Marvin Windows and Doors. “Whether a faithful historic restoration or a completely original creation, these architects show what’s possible with inspiration and a focus on quality.”

The winners of this year’s competition are:

• Amherst College Residences (Mayo Smith House, Seelye House, Hitchcock House), Amherst, Mass.: James McKinney (Sacco+McKinney Architects, Latham, N.Y.);

• Overlook House, Lexington, Mass.: Marcus Gleysteen (Gleysteen Design, Cambridge, Mass.);

• White Mountain View, Sweden, Maine: Jesse Thompson (Kaplan Thompson Architects, Portland, Maine);

• KK Residence, Santa Rosa, Calif.: Kent Chilcott (Kent Chilcott Studio, Santa Rosa, Calif.);

• Hunting Barn, Wayzata, Minn.: Jeff Murphy (2 Murphy & Co. Design, Buffalo, Minn.)

• Historic Vaucluse (restoration, renovation and addition), Machipongo, Va.: Stephen Muse (Muse Architects, Bethesda, Md.);

• Dethlefs Residence, Happy Valley, Ore.: Michael Barclay (Barclay Home Design, Clackamas, Ore.);

Designed by Michael Barclay of Barclay Home Design in Clackamas, Ore ., the Dethlefs residence in Happy Valley, Ore., was a winner in the 2011 myMarvin Architect’s Challenge. Photo provided by Marvin Windows and Doors.

• Eagle Harbor Cabin, Eagle Harbor, Mich.: Nils Finne (FINNE Architects, Seattle);

• Dutchess County Farmhouse, Stanfordville, N.Y.: Douglas Larson (Larson and Paul Architects, New York);

• The Manor Garden, Hoboken, N.J.: Anthony Vandermark (Minervini Vandermark Architecture, Hoboken, N.J.); and

• La Reserva Villa, Sotogrande, Spain: Francis Daniel Trico (McLundie Architects, San Roque, Spain).

This year’s judging panel included architects Carson Looney, FAIA, of Looney Ricks Kiss, Memphis, Tenn.; William Kreager, FAIA, of Mithun, Seattle; and Mark McInturff, FAIA, of McInturff Architects, Bethesda, Md.

Winners are flown to Minneapolis for an AIA tour of architecturally significant buildings in the Twin Cities. They also visit the Marvin factory in Warroad, Minn., where they learn more about how craftspeople build every Marvin door and window precisely to order.